Disconnected from the World

20140205-211948.jpg

I know, it sounds pretty serious and maybe even an exaggeration from me but, that is exactly how I felt today. Seven years of constant Facebook use does that to you. I had to do the unthinkable and deactivate my page..temporarily, so that I can focus on this last theory semester of my degree. I didn’t exactly cut off all forms of social media as I kept my IG and of course I’m still running this blog, but I felt I had to cut off an important piece of my life in order to get back MY life. Today is the first of many days to come bearing withdrawal feels. I didn’t realize I constantly access FB as much and had become a staple of my everyday routine: wake up in the am- Facebook before getting out of bed, get ready and dressed-quick scroll on fb to see what’s happening, warm up the car before leaving for school-open fb again to post a status… now imagine this routine doubles as the day unfolds and multiply that by 365 days of each year I’ve been a member, and if FB charged a user a fee per access, I would go broke trying to fund this insane addiction. These unconscious habits were a huge part of my life and I feel sad to admit, I painfully miss the feel of scrolling that news feed and knowing what’s going on with the people I know and love. Today, I caught myself reaching for my phone multiple times unconsciously and was about to open the app (which I deleted by the way) and as soon as I realized, I immediately placed my phone back in my bag and refocused (you know you’re addicted when…lol). It sounds ridiculous but I did feel cut off, I thought I wasn’t going to last a full day without it (especially since I have used it everyday for 7years), but I was surprised at myself to have lasted a day without giving in and re-downloading the app. I know, it’s too early to talk, but I am confident that when I slowly fill my day with all the things I have to do for school and distract myself with the tangible and fun things around me, I will slowly get over that habit which had unconsciously taken over my life. One thing I realized right away as soon as I deactivated my page though… I had all this time, so much time, for myself and everything else I needed to do today and I was able to do them all.

Parting Thoughts:

Have you or do you know someone who is as obsessed with Facebook like I was? And did they try to kick this habit and succeed or not? Let me know in the comments below^^

20140205-203600.jpg

3 thoughts on “Disconnected from the World

Leave a Reply

